Saguenay-Lac-Saint-jean

Kasakondo-Immobilier-Fresh-Blueberries

Housing market statistics of the Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean region

Community profile ot the Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region

When invoking the Saguenay Lac-Saint-Jean, the image that immediately comes to mind is the splendor and the magical beauty of the Saguenay fjord. The region is located about 220 kilometres from the city of Quebec and on the north-eastern shore of the St. Lawrence River. It boasts a population of approximately 280,000 souls disposed around essentially five major urban centres: Saguenay and Chicoutimi, Alma, Dolbeau-Mistassini, Saint-Felicien and Roberval.

The Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region is punctuated with must-see and unique locales that enchant all of its residents and attract those who wish to live in the Saguenay traditional lifestyle in a full-time mode. The Saguenay fjord is an out of the ordinary natural attraction due to the fact that it is one the very rare fjords that do not spill in a sea. Now, as a train plying the generous landscapes of this region of the Quebec territory, let’s get more familiar with the different places so that you will be able to appreciate all it as to offer:

—The first step of our walkthrough the region is the city of Saguenay, which has three districts: Chicoutimi, Jonquière and La Baie. The city is therefore located upstream of the Saguenay fjord. In Chicoutimi, the downtown area and it’s Cathedral offer all of the advantages of a medium-sized urban centre and boast a wide range of properties at affordable prices that will definitely catch your interest. Nearby, you will find the University of Quebec in Chicoutimi (UQAC) and its Campus, which provide a steady stream of students from around the province who gather here to learn and discover new experiences. In the La Baie district, you will come upon the Ha! Ha! pyramid. This monument was erected to commemorate the floods of 1996 and it was named after the river which caused this natural disaster. Finally, we should not forget to mention the Rio Tinto Alcan industrial installations, a jewel of international repute in the aluminum domain. It provides the region with a significant number of jobs, that allows the development of local businesses which in return generate a sound regional economic activity.

—On our way to the Lac-St-Jean, we approach the city of Alma. A medium-sized city listing a few industries, mainly small and medium-sized enterprises that have ensured a certain economic stability over the last decades. Our journey leads us naturally to the first settlement bordering the Lac-St-Jean: Roberval. This quiet town has gained an international reputation thanks to the famous “International crossing of the Lac-St-Jean”. Indeed, since 1955, swimmers from all around the world have gathered every year to defy the cold waters of the lake for a 32 kilometres ordeal that culminates by crowning the best long-distance swimmer. This competition had reached such a level of recognition that it was integrated to the Open Water Swim World competition (FINA) in 1998 contributing to a wide media exposure of the whole Lac-St-Jean region.

—Going ahead with our trek on route 169 we arrive to the city of Saint-Felicien, now famously known for its wild zoo which is recognized for being one of the most diversified zoos in North America. Due to being administered by the centre for conservation of boreal diversity and that it is also dedicated to the conservation of wildlife in this geographical area, it also turns out to be the biggest Zoological Garden in Quebec. The fact that it concentrates in the study of boreal species gave it an international recognition as expert in the field.

—Our tour of the Lac-St-Jean region ends with our ultimate stop: Dolbeau-Mistassini, also known as the capital of the wild blueberries. The region is known for its culture of blueberries and its related industry. Unbeknownst to most, many chocolate artisans are present in the city. Not only do they offer their refined products to the most seasoned lovers around but they also export a large part of their production around the world.

As a curiosity, who will be surprised to learn of the existence of nice sandy beaches in this area, which is a major attraction during the summer months. Why head South during the summer season when there are great beaches nearby? The shores of the Lac-St-Jean offer great spots for swimming. If you are a trekking amateur, the endless possibilities will definitely keep you in shape and out of your home. Each season bringing their own array of amazing sights. Take note that the Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region offers a multitude of recreational and sporting activities in any season. Settling in the region guarantees access to not only the amenities of urban centres but more interestingly the possibility to easily escape your day to day living since nature awaits just outside your door.

Available properties abound. Be it on the shores of the Lake or in urban areas. No matter what type of property you are looking for, a great home to raise your family, a farmhouse for a planned return to the land or any other type of property, you will find a large selection in many shapes.

Come and experience the unique lifestyle offered in the Saguenay-Lac-St-jean region!

Whether you are looking to sell your property or to learn more about the state of the housing market to purchase one, feel at ease to consult one of our realtors expert in the region.

Kasakondo-Immobilier-Lake-View

Request a real estate agent

Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean

Kasakondo-Immobilier-Fresh-Blueberries

Statistiques immobilières

Profil démographique

Lorsque l’on évoque la grande région du Saguenay Lac-Saint-Jean, l’image qui vient immédiatement à l’esprit est la splendeur et la magie du fjord Saguenay. Elle se situe à environ 220 kilomètres de la ville de Québec et sur la rive nord du fleuve Saint-Laurent. La population avoisine les 280 000 âmes réparties géographiquement sur essentiellement cinq principaux centres urbains : Saguenay et Chicoutimi, Alma, Dolbeau-Mistassini, Saint-Félicien et Roberval.

La féerie du Saguenay Lac-Saint-Jean est donc ponctuée de lieux incontournables pour les habitants et ceux désireux de vivre à temps plein la tradition saguenéenne. Le fjord du Saguenay constitue un attrait naturel hors du commun, car il s’agit d’un des rares fjords qui ne débouche pas sur une mer. Désormais, tel un train sillonnant les pourtours généreux de cette région du territoire Québécois, parcourons les différentes étapes indispensables à une familiarisation des lieux et à leur juste appréciation :

– La première étape jalonnant cette région est la ville de Saguenay qui compte trois arrondissements : Chicoutimi, Jonquière et La Baie. La ville se situe donc en amont du fjord Saguenay. Les yeux se rivent rapidement vers le centre-ville et la cathédrale de Chicoutimi offrant les avantages d’un centre urbain de taille moyenne et une gamme importante de biens immobiliers à des prix abordables. Le parcours se poursuit avec l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et son campus universitaire qui procure à la ville un flot constant d’étudiants friands de connaissances et d’expériences nouvelles. La pyramide des Ha ! Ha ! s’offre à notre regard alors que nous battons le pavé du secteur La Baie. Ce monument vient commémorer le triste déluge de 1996 et emprunte son nom à la rivière du même nom. Enfin, il ne faut pas oublier de mentionner l’industriel Rio Tinto Alcan, fleuron dans le domaine de l’aluminium et de notoriété internationale. Il offre par ailleurs un nombre non négligeable d’emplois à la région, ce qui permet le développement d’entreprises locales générant par là même une activité économique appréciée en région.

– À l’approche du lac Saint-Jean, on aborde la ville d’Alma ; ville de taille moyenne recensant quelques industries, petites et moyennes entreprises qui assurent une certaine pérennité économique depuis quelques décennies. Notre périple nous conduit tout naturellement vers la première agglomération bordant le lac Saint-Jean : Roberval. Cette ville tranquille a accédé à une notoriété internationale grâce à la célèbre Traversée internationale du lac Saint-Jean. En effet, des nageurs du monde entier viennent braver la froideur des eaux et défient les 32 kilomètres qui constituent l’épreuve de natation depuis 1955. Son succès lui a permis d’intégrer la coupe du monde de natation de longue distance dès 1998 et contribue à une large visibilité médiatique de la région.

–La poursuite de notre ballade sur la route 169 nous mène à la ville de Saint-Félicien désormais célèbre pour son zoo sauvage. Il s’avère être le plus grand Jardin zoologique du Québec, car il est administré par le centre de conservation des diversités boréales et se consacre également à la conservation de la faune de cette zone géographique. On affirme que toutes les espèces présentes appartiennent à la Boréalie. La pluralité des espèces et l’aménagement des lieux ont contribués grandement au succès de cette aventure élevant Saint-Félicien au rang d’expert en matière de conservation d’écosystème au niveau international.

–Notre tour du lac Saint-Jean s’achève avec l’étape ultime : Dolbeau-Mistassini, connue également comme la capitale du bleuet. La région est réputée pour sa culture du bleuet et son industrie s’y rattachant. Les artisans chocolatiers offrent une gamme de produits raffinés aux amateurs les plus aguerris et la région exporte une grande partie de ses produits à travers le monde.

Force est de constater l’existence de plages sablonneuses dans cette zone, ce qui constitue un attrait majeur en saison estivale. Les rives du lac Saint-Jean regorgent de lieux privilégiés pour la baignade ou la ballade et les promeneurs ne manquent pas leurs escapades en toute saison. Il est à noter pour conclure que le Saguenay Lac-Saint-Jean propose une multitude d’activités récréatives et sportives en toute saison. S’établir dans la région garantit l’accessibilité aux commodités des centres urbains et la possibilité de s’évader aisément dans une nature généreuse et diverse toute à proximité.

Les offres de propriétés à acquérir abondent, sur les rives du lac tout comme en milieu urbain. Peu importe le type de propriété que vous recherchez, que ce soit une grande maison pour y élever votre famille, une fermette pour un retour aux sources ou pour toute autre propriété, vous y trouverez un grand choix sous de nombreuses déclinaisons.

Venez vivre la richesse du territoire saguenéen !

Que ce soit pour vendre votre propriété ou pour mieux connaître l’état du marché immobilier dans le but d’un achat, n’hésitez pas à consulter l’un de nos courtiers-membres expert dans la région.

Kasakondo-Immobilier-Lake-View

Fjord du Saguenay.

Demandez l’aide d’un courtier immobilier